An ER Doctor’s Kind Words Gave Me the Reassurance I Needed as a New Mom​

From Pop Sugar:

The ER doctor seemed a bit stiff when he introduced himself. As he examined our son, he ticked off questions about when the baby had eaten, how he’d behaved, and what we’d experienced in those first days. We gave him all the answers, and after checking our son’s vital signs, the doctor said he was fine and that it may have been reflux, but he’d be OK.

Maybe it was the dark circles under our eyes or our mismatched pajamas or the way we shyly thanked the doctor and half-apologized for being there in the first place, but whatever it was, something made him pull out a chair and sit down.

“I’m 45 and I have three kids,” he told us. “With the first one, we had no idea what we were doing, and we were nervous about every little thing. I thought it would be different with the others, but it wasn’t. I’m still nervous all the time.”

I started crying. I blamed the hormones and the sleep deprivation, but really, it was relief.

I started crying. I blamed the hormones and the sleep deprivation, but really, it was relief.

The doctor put his hand on my shoulder. “Don’t feel silly for being here,” he said. “Trust your instincts. This is your kid, and you did the right thing. You can bring him here in the middle of the night whenever you feel like you need to, OK?”

We nodded and he left, and I glanced at my husband, who gave me a tired, satisfied smile. “I’m glad we came,” he said. “Even though I’d rather be sleeping.”

“Me too,” I agreed, grateful for a doctor who’d known exactly what we needed: reassurance, a little bit of encouragement. Kindness.

Leave a Reply

